Spaceflight Insider

SFI LIVE: Orbital ATK & NASA conduct QM-2 static test fire

Orbital ATK and NASA are preparing to carry out the final static test fire of the 177-foot long five segment solid rocket booster that is planned for use on NASA's new super heavy-lift Space Launch System. Archive Photo Credit: Jason Rhian / SpaceFlight Insider

Orbital ATK and NASA are preparing to carry out the final static test fire of the 177-foot long five-segment solid rocket booster that is planned for use on NASA’s new super heavy-lift Space Launch System. The test is scheduled for 8:05 a.m. MDT (10:05 a.m. EDT / 14:05 GMT) on Tuesday, June 28, 2016. Archive Photo Credit: Jason Rhian / SpaceFlight Insider

PROMONTORY, Utah — Orbital ATK and NASA are poised to conduct the final test of the five-segment solid rocket booster design that will be used on NASA’s new super-heavy rocket, the Space Launch System or SLS. SpaceFlight Insider is live at Orbital ATK’s test facilities in Utah and is currently planning on beginning our live webcast at 7:00 a.m. MDT (9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 GMT). We have an array of guests lined up, as well as exclusive video segments and more!

Tagged:

Jason Rhian spent several years honing his skills with internships at NASA, the National Space Society and other organizations. He has provided content for outlets such as: Aviation Week & Space Technology, Space.com, The Mars Society and Universe Today.

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.