Spaceflight Insider

News Archive / Tagged: Guiana Space Centre

  • Arianespace successfully launches Hispasat 36W-1, pushes Soyuz to its limits

    Curt GodwinJanuary 28th, 2017

    Nailing the opening of an instantaneous launch window, a Russian-built Soyuz ST-B lifted off from the Guiana Space Center in French Guiana for Arianespace on a mission to deliver the Hispasat 36W-1 telecommunications satellite to a geostationary transfer orbit (GTO).

  • Arianespace to launch two Intelsat communications satellites into orbit

    Tomasz NowakowskiAugust 22nd, 2016

    Arianespace is in the final stage of preparations to conduct its sixth mission of the year by launching two Intelsat communications satellites into orbit on Wednesday, Aug. 24. The spacecraft, designated Intelsat 33e and Intelsat 36, will take to the skies from the Ariane Launch Complex No. 3 (ELA 3) in Kourou, French Guiana, atop an Ariane 5 booster. The launch window starts at 5:55 p.m. EDT (21:55 GMT) and extends for 45 minutes.

  • High upper-level winds delay Ariane 5 launch

    Derek RichardsonJune 17th, 2016

    The launch of an Ariane 5 rocket with two U.S.-built communications satellites was scrubbed today, June 17, because of unfavorable upper-level winds. This comes after a 24-hour delay due to a problem with an umbilical connection.

  • VA229 mission launches Eutelsat 65 West A

    Jose FloresMarch 9th, 2016

    The skies above Guiana Space Centre’s launch pad ELA-3 came to life for the second time in 2016 at 12:20 a.m. EST (05:20 GMT) with the powerful roar and blinding light that marks the launch of an Ariane 5.

  • Alba and Oriana go to orbit: Arianespace ready to launch Europe’s next pair of Galileo satellites

    Tomasz NowakowskiSeptember 8th, 2015

    Arianespace is gearing up to launch the European Galileo 9 and 10 satellites, named Alba and Oriana, on the company’s eighth mission this year, designated Flight VS12. The lift-off will occur at 10:08 p.m. EDT on Thursday, Sept. 10 (02:08 GMT on Sept. 11) from the Soyuz Launch Complex (ELS) in Sinnamary, French Guiana.

  • Vega rocket set to launch DZZ-HR satellite for Kazakhstan

    Jacques van OeneApril 28th, 2014

    Europe’s smallest rocket is set to launch for the third time on Monday, April 28 (Tuesday, April 29 in Europe) from Kourou, French Guiana at 9:35 p.m. EDT, 1:35 GMT. The VEGA rocket is now poised to launch the second satellite for the Republic of Kazakhstan in as many days (Kazsat-3 launched from the Baikonur […]

  • Arianespace successfully launches two satellites atop Ariane 5 booster

    Jason RhianMarch 23rd, 2014

    Arianespace successfully sent the Astra 5B and Amazonas 4A satellites to orbit on Saturday, March 22 at 6:04 p.m. EDT (22:04 p.m. GMT). Lifting off from the Kourou, French Guiana spaceport, the two satellites were stacked one on top of the other inside their Système de Lancement Double Ariane (SYLDA) payload carrier. The flight, dubbed VA-216, […]