Spaceflight Insider

AsiaSat 6 launch update

Photo Credit: Mike Howard/Spaceflight Insider

According to the latest weather update from the United States Air Force and Florida Today, the launch of AsiaSat 6 will be delayed at least one day. The satellite is now predicted to liftoff from Cape Canaveral, no sooner than 12:50 am EDT (04:50 GMT) on Sunday, September 7, 2014. Weather conditions are listed as 60 percent favorable across the entire launch window, which closes at 4:04 am EDT (08:04 GMT). 

The 45th Weather Squadron says conditions improve on Monday, listing it as “70 percent favorable”. Both SpaceX and AsiaSat have not confirmed a launch time. The main weather concern is thick clouds due to a passing tropical wave. The Eastern Range is open and clear for launch until September 16 when the CLIO satellite is scheduled to launch atop a United Launch Alliance Atlas V.

SpaceX originally had AsiaSat on the schedule for last week, but decided to postpone the launch following a development rocket failure during a test flight in Texas. SpaceX wanted to take time to double and triple check their systems, but were not concerned for the Falcon 9 rocket.

Stay tuned to Spaceflight Insider for more details as they become available.

 

Welcome to The Spaceflight Group! Be sure to follow us on Facebook: The Spaceflight Group as well as on Twitter at: @SpaceflightGrp

 

 

 

 

Tagged:

SpaceFlight Insider is a space journal working to break the pattern of bias prevalent among other media outlets. Working off a budget acquired through sponsors and advertisers, SpaceFlight Insider has rapidly become one of the premier space news outlets currently in operation. SFI works almost exclusively with the assistance of volunteers.

Reader Comments

Bummer. Am I correct in understanding that the GTO means there will not be enough fuel for a first stage recovery attempt?

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *