Spaceflight Insider

SFI LIVE: SpaceX launching Inmarsat-5 F4 communications satellite

KENNEDY SPACE CENTER, Fla. — Hawthorne, California-based SpaceX has an expendable Falcon 9 rocket ready to launch the Inmarsat-5 Flight 4 communications satellite to a geostationary transfer orbit. Tune in here for our live webcast from KSC!

Taking flight from Launch Complex 39A, the mission has a 49-minute window that opens at 7:21 p.m. EDT (23:21 GMT) to get off the pad. Because the satellite is more than 13,000 pounds (5,900 kilograms), the satellite is too heavy to allow for a first stage recovery attempt.

Be sure to tune into SFI LIVE at about 6:50 p.m. EDT (22:50 GMT) for coverage of the mission. Additionally, you can visit SFI’s Mission Monitor page for live updates.

Tagged:

Derek Richardson has a degree in mass media, with an emphasis in contemporary journalism, from Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas. While at Washburn, he was the managing editor of the student run newspaper, the Washburn Review. He also has a blog about the International Space Station, called Orbital Velocity.

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *