Spaceflight Insider

ULA Delta IV launch with GPS IIF-6 scrubbed due to weather, rescheduled for Friday

ULA's Delta IV Medium sitting on the Pad at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station Space Launch Complex 37. Photo Credit: Mike Howard/Space Flight Insider

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. — Due to turbulent weather conditions, United Launch Alliance (ULA) will have to wait 24 hours before the next window opens to launch the United States Air Force’s GPS IIF-6 satellite aboard a Delta IV Medium+ (4,2) rocket. Liftoff was slated to take place at 8:08 p.m. EDT (0008 GMT) from Space Launch Complex 37 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station. The launch has been rescheduled for Friday May 16, 2014 with a 19 minute launch window opening at 8:03 p.m. EDT (0003 GMT).

The scrub was announced within an hour of the launch time and was due to multiple weather criteria violations. Friday’s forecast dramatically improves with a 90 percent chance of favorable launch conditions compared to a 30 percent of favorable conditions on Thursday. Currently the only concerns for a Friday launch are potential solar activity and a minor chance of cloud violations.

SpaceFlight Insider will cover the launch live – tune into updates from Cape Canaveral starting one hour prior to launch! 

 

Welcome to The Spaceflight Group! Be sure to follow us on Facebook: The Spaceflight Group as well as on Twitter at: @SpaceflightGrp

 

 

 

 

Tagged:

SpaceFlight Insider is a space journal working to break the pattern of bias prevalent among other media outlets. Working off a budget acquired through sponsors and advertisers, SpaceFlight Insider has rapidly become one of the premier space news outlets currently in operation. SFI works almost exclusively with the assistance of volunteers.

Reader Comments

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *