Spaceflight Insider

News Archive / Tagged: Juno

  • Enigma of Jupiter’s powerful auroras

    Ocean McIntyreSeptember 10th, 2017

    The processes that drive Earth's auroras are generally understood; however, this cannot be said of the powerful Jovian auroras observed by NASA's Juno spacecraft currently orbiting the gas giant planet.

  • Juno completes historic flyby over Jupiter’s Great Red Spot

    Laurel KornfeldJuly 12th, 2017

    NASA's Juno spacecraft successfully completed the first ever close flyby of the mysterious storm on Jupiter known as the Great Red Spot, and early images of the phenomenon are already being returned to Earth.

  • Juno approaches 6th science perijove and a peek at the Great Red Spot

    Ocean McIntyreJuly 8th, 2017

    Just a few days after the one-year anniversary of Juno's insertion into orbit above Jupiter, the spacecraft will make its sixth science pass over the planet’s cloud tops. The pass on July 10, 2017, will be one of special interest, as it will be passing over the iconic Great Red Spot.

  • Early science results from Juno spacecraft show ‘whole new Jupiter’

    Ocean McIntyreMay 26th, 2017

    During a May 25, 2017, press conference, NASA scientists released the first early results of science data gathered by the Juno spacecraft around Jupiter. Much of what has been found has scientists questioning everything they had previously believed was understood about the king of planets.

  • Juno spacecraft makes fifth science pass of Jupiter

    Jim SharkeyMay 24th, 2017

    NASA's Juno mission made a close flyby of the planet Jupiter on May 19, successfully completing the spacecraft's fifth science orbit of the gas giant. JunoCam and all of the spacecraft's science instruments were operating during the flyby. Juno's next close flyby, which will take it over Jupiter's Great Red Spot, will take place on July 11, 2017.

  • Juno heads for 5th flyby of Jupiter’s cloud tops

    Laurel KornfeldMarch 26th, 2017

    Less than nine months after entering orbit around Jupiter, NASA's Juno spacecraft is set to conduct its fifth close flyby of the giant planet's cloud tops on Monday, March 27, 2017.

  • Juno completes 3rd orbit, captures ‘pearl’

    Derek RichardsonDecember 14th, 2016

    Streaking by at about 129,000 mph (57.8 kilometers per second), NASA’s Juno spacecraft completed its third flyby some 2,580 miles (4,150 kilometers) over Jupiter's cloud tops. The close approach occurred at 12:04 a.m. EST (17:04 GMT) Dec. 11, 2016.

  • A first look at Jupiter through the eyes of Juno

    Mackenzie KaneOctober 29th, 2016

    As NASA’s Kepler spacecraft has taught us, finding planets around other stars is not uncommon – it is actually expected. However, what continues to puzzle scientists to this day is how the Solar System formed with terrestrial planets closest to the Sun and icy gas giants farther away, separated by an asteroid belt of planetary debris.

  • Juno spacecraft goes into safe mode prior to flyby

    Jim SharkeyOctober 20th, 2016

    NASA's Juno spacecraft entered safe mode on Tuesday, Oct. 18, 10:47 p.m. PDT (Oct. 19 at 1:47 a.m. EDT / 05:47 GMT). For reasons that aren't fully known yet, a software performance monitor induced a reboot of the spacecraft's onboard computer. Juno restarted successfully and is healthy.

  • NASA’s Juno spacecraft captures images of Jupiter’s poles

    Jim SharkeySeptember 4th, 2016

    On Friday, Sept. 2, NASA released the first images from the Juno spacecraft's close approach of Jupiter, which occurred on Aug. 27. The images include first-ever views of Jupiter's north pole showing storms and weather systems unlike any seen before on any of the Solar System's other gas-giant planets.

  • NASA’s Juno spacecraft to make closest approach of Jupiter August 27

    Jim SharkeyAugust 26th, 2016

    NASA's Juno spacecraft will get closer to the cloud tops of Jupiter than at any other time during its primary mission on Saturday, Aug. 27, at 5:51 a.m. PDT (8:51 a.m. EDT; 12:51 GMT). Juno will be about 2,500 miles (4,200 kilometers) above the giant planet's swirling clouds at the moment of closest approach and traveling at 130,000 mph (208,000 km/h) with respect to Jupiter.

  • Juno spacecraft sends first in-orbit view of Jupiter

    Jim SharkeyJuly 16th, 2016

    NASA recently released the first view of Jupiter taken by the Juno spacecraft since its July 4 arrival at the giant planet. JunoCam, the spacecraft's visible light camera, was turned on six days after Juno executed a 35-minute engine burn to place the vehicle in orbit around Jupiter. Juno will be in a position to take high-resolution images of Jupiter in late August.

  • NASA’s Juno spacecraft inserted into orbit above Jupiter

    Jim SharkeyJuly 5th, 2016

    NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory near Pasadena, California, heralded the arrival of the Juno spacecraft in orbit above the gas giant Jupiter on July 4, 2016, at 8:18 p.m. PDT (11:18 p.m. EDT / 03:18 GMT on July 5). This was the culmination of an almost five-year journey through the black of space.

  • How much water is inside Jupiter? NASA’s Juno spacecraft is about to find out

    Tomasz NowakowskiJune 30th, 2016

    NASA’s Juno spacecraft is just a few days shy of its arrival at the Solar System’s biggest planet. The highly anticipated mission is about to take a peek into the real nature of Jupiter, hopefully providing new insights about the structure of this gaseous giant. Juno could be on the verge of redefining our current knowledge about what lies deep beneath Jupiter’s thick and violent atmosphere.

  • NASA’s Juno spacecraft closes in on Jupiter

    Jim SharkeyJune 18th, 2016

    NASA held a media briefing on Thursday, June 16, to discuss the July 4th arrival of the Juno spacecraft at Jupiter. As of Thursday, the solar-powered spacecraft, which is roughly the size of a basketball court, was 18 days and 8.6 million miles (13.8 million kilometers) from Jupiter.