Spaceflight Insider

News Archive / Tagged: Georges Lemaitre

  • Final ATV, Georges Lemaître, departs the ISS and returns to Earth

    Joe LatrellFebruary 14th, 2015

    ATV-5 – the last of the European automated transfer vehicles is on the way back to Earth after an extended stay at the International Space Station (ISS). The departure occurred at 8:15 a.m. EST (12:15 GMT). The craft is designed to burn up when reentering the Earth’s atmosphere. Any remaining pieces will fall harmlessly into […]

  • ATV-5 – Georges Lemaitres – arrives at International Space Station

    Jason RhianAugust 12th, 2014

    The Georges Lemaître Automated Transfer Vehicle, the last of the European Space Agency’s (ESA ) ATVs scheduled to fly, delivered some 14,451 lbs (6,555 kilograms) of cargo after a successful docking to the International Space Station (ISS) on July 12 at 9:30 a.m. EDT (13:30 GMT). With its safe docking to the ISS’ Svezda module, this marks […]