Spaceflight Insider

Photo Gallery: Orbital ATK QM-2 solid rocket booster test

PROMONTORY, Utah — Orbital ATK and NASA test fired one of the Dulles, Virginia-based firm’s massive five-segment solid rocket boosters on June 28, 2016, at 9:05 a.m. MDT (11:05 EDT / 15:05 GMT). The cold soak test was the second and final under the Qualification Motor series of tests. These boosters should next light up in late 2018 with the maiden flight of NASA’s new super-heavy-lift Space Launch System.

QM-2Qualification Motor Test 2 (QM-2) was carried out on June 28, 2016 and was the final milestone prior to two of the five-segment solid rocket motors being used on the inaugural flight of NASA’s new super heavy-lift Space Launch System rocket. The test was conducted at Orbital ATK’s test facilities located in Promontory, Utah and lasted some two minutes and six seconds and unleashed an impressive 3.6 million pound-force (16,000 kN) of thrust.

Tagged:

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *