Spaceflight Insider

SFI LIVE webcast of SpaceX Dragon Pad Abort Test

SpaceX Dragon V2 Pad Abort Test Cape Canaveral Air Force Station Space Launch Complex 40 photo credit: Carleton Bailie SpaceFlight Insider

SpaceX's crewed Dragon prior to the May 6, 2015 pad abort test. Photo Credit: Carleton Bailie / SpaceFlight Insider

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla — Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX ) successfully conducted a static fire test of the eight SuperDraco rocket engines mounted to the sides of the crew-rated Dragon V2 spacecraft on Tuesday, May 5. This set the stage for the NewSpace firm to carry out a Pad Abort Test on Wednesday, May 6. The time of the test window changed from opening at 7 a.m. EDT (11:00 GMT) to 9 a.m. EDT. SFI LIVE will begin streaming the event live from the ITL Causeway at Cape Canaveral, starting at 8:30 a.m. EDT 12:30 GMT) and concluding at 10:30 a.m. EDT (14:30 GMT). After this period, you can still watch NASA TV’s feed here.


Jason Rhian spent several years honing his skills with internships at NASA, the National Space Society and other organizations. He has provided content for outlets such as: Aviation Week & Space Technology,, The Mars Society and Universe Today.

Reader Comments

Michel Laliberté

According to the plan, the trunk will be jettisoned when the vehicle reaches apogee. The trunk is dead load, the capsule carries both the engines and the fuel Why does the plan call for the extraction of *both* the trunk and capsule? All other (tractor) launch abort systems leave out the command module.

George Worthington

The fins on the trunk and the weight of the trunk provide stablity

And, it will also allow the opportunity to salvage equipment in the trunk that would other wise be destroyed. But that is just an extra benefit

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *