Spaceflight Insider

DSCOVR launch date now set for Feb. 10

SpaceX Falcon 9 v1.1 DSCOVR Deep Space Climate Observatory NASA photo credit Jared Haworth SpaceFlight Insider

Photo Credit: Jared Haworth / SpaceFlight Insider

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. — The next launch attempt for the DSCOVR mission will now be no earlier than Tuesday, Feb. 10 at 6:05 p.m. EST (2305 GMT) with a backup launch opportunity on Wednesday, Feb. 11 at 6:03 p.m. EST (2303 GMT). Weather for an attempt on Monday, Feb. 9 was deemed to be unfavorable. If an attempt was made and ultimately scrubbed for weather, the team would lose either the Tuesday or Wednesday launch opportunities due to crew rest requirements from the U.S. Air Force. 

While it is not required for flight, SpaceX will leverage the extra time to replace a video transmitter on the first stage in advance of the next attempt to land the Falcon 9 v1.1’s first stage on a barge positioned some 370 miles (595 kilometers) off the coast of Jacksonville, Florida.


Welcome to SpaceFlight Insider! Be sure to follow us on Facebook: SpaceFlight Insider as well as on Twitter at: @SpaceflightIns






SpaceFlight Insider is a space journal working to break the pattern of bias prevalent among other media outlets. Working off a budget acquired through sponsors and advertisers, SpaceFlight Insider has rapidly become one of the premier space news outlets currently in operation. SFI works almost exclusively with the assistance of volunteers.

Reader Comments

Please replace that transmitter We all want to see the video of a beutiful 10 point landing, on the barge.

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *