Spaceflight Insider

Third scrub in a row for ULA Atlas V with OA-4 mission to ISS

Orbital ATK ULA Atlas V 401 rocket Cape Canaveral Air Force Station Space Launch Complex 41 photo credit Jason Rhian SpaceFlight Insider

Photo Credit: Jason Rhian / SpaceFlight Insider

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. —The ULA launch team scrubbed the third attempt to get an Atlas V 401 rocket off the pad and into the skies at 1:51 p.m. EST (18:51 GMT) – almost three hours before the launch window was set to open. The issue that caused the flight’s delay was the same as yesterday’s – very high winds that were forecasted for later today.

Displaying a can-do attitude, the team pressed on and rest the launch for Sunday, Dec. 6, with the launch window opening at 4:44 p.m. EST (21:44 p.m. GMT).

Weather and wind conditions are currently only providing a 40 percent chance of being favorable for launch.

The turbulent Florida weather has dashed efforts to get the Atlas booster off the pad for three days straight. Once was due to rain and rough weather, and twice due to high winds at Space Launch Complex 41 located at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida.

When the Atlas does take to the skies, it will mark NASA’s return to sending cargo to the International Space Station. The space agency’s commercial partner, Orbital ATK, has a $1,9 billion agreement with NASA to conduct 10 such cargo runs to the orbiting laboratory.


Jason Rhian spent several years honing his skills with internships at NASA, the National Space Society and other organizations. He has provided content for outlets such as: Aviation Week & Space Technology,, The Mars Society and Universe Today.

Reader Comments

Hope it will be a Go for Launch today- C. Cooley

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *