Spaceflight Insider

High upper level winds push SpaceX DSCOVR launch to Feb. 11


Photo Credit Jared Haworth / SpaceFlight Insider

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. — The second launch attempt of DSCOVR was scrubbed at approximately 13 minutes prior to the scheduled liftoff time of 6:05 p.m. EST (2305 GMT) today due to violation of liftoff weather conditions. DSCOVR is a satellite designed to measure incoming solar weather. However, it was Earth-bound weather that caused the scrub. The third launch attempt is now scheduled for no-earlier-than (NET) Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015 at 6:03 p.m. EST (2303 GMT).

The cold front that caused Monday’s rain pushed through Florida’s Space Coast and skies cleared by early afternoon. But strong winds of 25-30 miles per hour behind the front persisted throughout the day. Estimates placed the launch constraints far outside acceptable limits for launch.

Hans Koenigsmann and Mike McAlaneed as seen on Spaceflight Insider

Hans Koenigsmann of SpaceX and Mike McAlaneen from the 45th Weather Squadron discuss the health of the launch vehicle and weather conditions ahead of the DSCOVR launch. Photo Credit: Jared Haworth/Spaceflight Insider

Weather for Wednesday’s launch attempt is calling for a greater than 90 percent chance of the weather being favorable for launch. If DSCOVR fails to launch on Feb. 11, 2015, SpaceX must stand down until Feb. 20, 2015, when the launch time would be approximately 5:35 p.m. EST (22:35 GMT).


Welcome to SpaceFlight Insider! Be sure to follow us on Facebook: SpaceFlight Insider as well as on Twitter at: @SpaceflightIns






SpaceFlight Insider is a space journal working to break the pattern of bias prevalent among other media outlets. Working off a budget acquired through sponsors and advertisers, SpaceFlight Insider has rapidly become one of the premier space news outlets currently in operation. SFI works almost exclusively with the assistance of volunteers.

Reader Comments

⚠ Commenting Rules

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *